December 23, 2013

Last night, JHE held its annual holiday party at the Fillmore Charlotte. The night is an opportunity for JHE to recognize its exceptional team and their families. The “Dog and Pony Awards” revealed some of the best moments of the year, as voted on by the employees. JHE is proud to announce the 2013 winners…

The Goose Bump Award isawarded to a JHE event moment that created “goose bumps” for the JHE team and the audience.

2013 Winner: NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race Driver Introductions

Why? The unforgettable moment went off without a hitch for one of the most memorable All-Star Race driver introductions to date. Jay Howard presented Ryan Baxter, Dan Mott, Matt Davis and Ryan Martin with the honor.

The Unsung Hero Award recognizes a person that simply makes things happen every day without much fanfare.

2013 Winner: Carrie Ryan

Why? Last year’s winner, Dan Mott, presented Ryan with the award for her dedication to the company and support of the graphics department.

The Bert Award, named after Jay’s dog, signifies a person that continually displays loyalty to the JHE company and people.

2013 Winner: John Autrey, Mary Griffin, Cody Kauffman and Kristin Thompson

Why? Last year’s winner, Brad Smith presented the first-ever four way tie to Autrey, Griffin, Kauffman and Thompson. Each was recognized for their loyalty to the JHE mission and culture.

The Vision and Passion Award honors an individual that continually goes above and beyond to ensure our product and client service are excellent.

2013 Winner: Matt Davis

Why? Last year’s winner, Terry Hodges, presented the award to Davis for his commitment to delivering on the JHE promise, “your vision, our passion.”


Other memorable moments from the night included…

Recognizing JHE Loyalty: JHE recognized team members who have demonstrated a loyalty to JHE by being a part of its success for multiple years.

The five-year service award, a blue bus trophy, was awarded to nine team members. The bus signifies a Jim Collins’ saying about having the right people on the bus in order to have a successful company.

Congratulations to the below team members who have been a part of JHE’s success since 2008.

Jeremy Callahan
Charlie Roberts
Julie Alascio
Brad Baker
Mike Mehesan
Paul Nolasco
Brandon Lepisto
Lauren Livesay
Donna Richardson

The 10-year service award, a black bus trophy and personalized JHE guitar, was presented to Gary Dozier, Brad Smith and Ryan Baxter to recognize their achievements.

The Newest Family Members: Howard welcomed the newest additions to the JHE family: Hayden Drew Waple, daughter of Jonathan and Sarah; Hadley Brennan Epperly, daughter of Natalie and Chris; and Lucas Clay Raven, son of James and Rachael. He presented each proud parent with a $1,000 certificate of deposit for their child’s future education.

A Truck Rodeo: Terry Hodges took the stage to announce the winner of the annual truck rodeo. Brandon Lepisto came in third place, Matt Vaz took second place and John Sheppard was announced the winner. Sheppard walked away with a $100 prize for his accomplishment.

And The Winner Is… Howard gave employees a chance to win grand prizes last night in three drawings. The names pulled from the fishbowl were…

Evelyn Stone: Four tickets to the Avett Brothers concert at Time Warner Cable Arena Dec. 31
Amy Lilly: Four royal box tickets to a Charlotte Checkers game Jan. 2
Derek Lane: Two floor tickets, including access to the Hardcourt Club, at a Charlotte Bobcats game Feb. 8

A Live Performance: Attendees had “two tickets to paradise” last night when Eddie Money took the stage. The 80s rocker shared the stage with a band of JHE team members, including Jay Howard, Mike Mehesan, Jacob Meadows, Ryan “R-Dub” Williams, Joe Sullivan, Nathan Poirier, Steve Moore, Joel Mullis, Lisa Ward and Sarah Pelchat. 

Dog and Pony Awards, Fillmore Charlotte, NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race, Jay Howard, Ryan Baxter, Dan Mott, Matt Davis, Ryan Martin, FOX Sports College Saturday Tour, Michael Verlatti, Meredith Rogers, Carrie Ryan, John Autrey, Mary Griffin, Cody Kauffman, Kristin Thompson, Matt Davis, Kara Hickerson, Jim Collins, Jeremy Callahan, Charlie Roberts, Juli Alascio, Brad Baker, Mike Mehesan, Paul Nolasco, Brandon Lepisto, Lauren Livesay, Donna Richardson, Gary Dozier, Brad Smith, Natalie Epperly, Jonathan Waple, James Raven, Terry Hodges, Matt Vaz, John Sheppard, Avett Brothers, Evelyn Stone, Amy Lilly, Charlotte Checkers, Derek Lane, Charlotte Bobcats, Eddie Money, R-Dub, Jacob Meadows, Joe Sullivan, Nathan Poirier, Steve Moore, Joel Mullis, Lisa Ward, Sarah Pelchat