May 17, 2012

HARRISBURG, N.C. (April 12, 2012) – The eighth annual NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew ChallengeTM returns to Time Warner Cable Arena in Charlotte, N.C., on Thursday, May 17, 2012. Tickets to the pit-crew skills competition are on sale at or by calling Time Warner Cable Arena box office at (800) 745-3000.

            Similar to other leagues’ all-star skills competitions like the slam dunk contest or home run derby, the NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew ChallengeTM  features the top-24 NASCAR Sprint Cup SeriesTM pit crews and settles who the best on pit road is with individual and team trials. The No. 11 FedEx Toyota team is the defending back-to-back team champion.

Pit Crew Challenge

“NASCAR is truly a team sport and requires the skill and talent of the drivers, crew chiefs, pit crews, mechanics, those back at the shop and many more,” said Robin Pemberton, vice president of competition for NASCAR. “The NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge showcases a vital element of our sport. The pit crews give it their all to prove who’s the best.”

            As one of several events during NASCAR Sprint All-Star WeekTM, the NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge will take place at 7 p.m. ET and will air on SPEED at 8 p.m. ET that evening. Tickets prices start at $15 while children ages two through 12 are half price ($7.50 each).

            “The NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge allows our sport to shine a spotlight on an essential but often overlooked component of team performance – the pit crew,” said Tim Considine, director of sports marketing for Sprint. “It’s an extremely exciting, fan-friendly event and we’re excited to see the fans come out to support these unsung heroes of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series racing.”

Pit Crew Challenge TrophyTo qualify for the NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge, teams must be eligible for the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race on May 19 or be the 2011 NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge Champion. NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race eligibility includes all NASCAR Sprint Cup race winners from 2011 and 2012, NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race winners from the past 10 years and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champions from the past 10 years who are active drivers and have competed in at least one series event during the 2011 or 2012 season. Remaining unfilled positions will become available to the car owners ranked highest in the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series owner point standings as of May 15.

The following teams are currently eligible: No. 2 Miller Lite Dodge, No. 5 Farmers Insurance Chevrolet, No. 9 Mac Tools Ford, No. 11 FedEx Toyota, No. 14 Office Depot Chevrolet, No. 15 5-Hour Energy Toyota, No. 17 Best Buy Ford, No. 18 M&M’s Toyota, No. 21 Motorcraft/Quick Lane Ford, No. 24 Drive to End Hunger Chevrolet, No. 27 Moen/Menards Chevrolet, No. 29 Budweiser Chevrolet,  No. 34 Front Row Motorsports Ford, No. 39 US Army Chevrolet, No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet, No. 51 Phoenix Construction Services Chevrolet, No. 55 Aaron’s Dream Machine Toyota, No. 78 Furniture Row Chevrolet, and No. 99 Cheez-It Ford.  

For more information, visit

pit crew challenge